Dark Wings Records

After the cult label DARK WINGS emerged from Modern Music GmbH in 1989, some music legends of the dark & metal scene could be signed and established until its closure under Karl Ulrich Walterbach. Legends like Sabat, Kamelot, Kreator, And One, Oomph, Icon or Dance Or Die found their label home there and the entry into their current status on the stages of the world.

After closing in 2006, things went quiet for a while until 2015, when an association of Swiss musicians secured the naming rights to Dark Wings.

I was offered to take over the label in 2018. Since I already run the Blood Rite Records label, my first thought was, ”Do you want to bring another label on board and carry the continued workload?”

But quickly I had the feeling, ”YES, you have to bring Dark Wings back.” I have a common past with this label. I worked as an A&R and product manager under Karl at that very label until it first closed in 2006, and that’s how I was able to start my career in the music industry. I’m an emotional person in this regard and couldn’t bear the thought of Dark Wings disappearing forever. I have great memories of artists/colleagues (who became friends) and many shows with lots of good music, as well as some very strange stories that people still like to tell today.

In this tradition, it is my concern and honor to bring Dark Wings ”back to the roots” under my leadership. We are now back home in Berlin, Germany and the claim is to continue to inspire the scene in all areas of the black scene with a lot of dark attitude. Goth-Rock, Industrial, Synth Pop, Hellelectro and so on….

Then in January 2022 we got a new addition to the label family. Tuomas Vuorio from Finland and Jamie Hembree from USA will support Dark Wings in the A&R area. This will give us the opportunity to expand International and increase our field of activity.

Dark Wings Records

Nachdem das Kultlabel DARK WINGS 1989 aus der Modern Music GmbH hervorging, konnten bis zu seiner Schließung unter Karl Ulrich Walterbach einige Musikgrößen der Dark & Metal Szene unter Vertrag genommen und etabliert werden. Legenden wie Sabat, Kamelot, Kreator, And One, Oomph, Icon oder Dance or Die fanden dort ihre Labelheimat und den Einstieg in ihren heutigen Status auf den Bühnen der Welt.

Nach der Schliessung im Jahr 2006 wurde es eine Weile ruhig, bis sich 2015 eine Vereinigung von Schweizer Musikern die Namensrechte an Dark Wings sicherte.

Mir wurde angeboten, das Label im Jahr 2018 zu übernehmen. Da ich bereits das Label Blood Rite Records betreibe, dachte ich mir zuerst: „Willst du ein weiteres Label an Bord holen und die weitere Arbeitslast tragen?“

Aber schnell hatte ich das Gefühl: „JA, du musst Dark Wings zurückbringen“. Ich habe eine gemeinsame Vergangenheit mit diesem Label. Ich habe als A&R und Produktmanager unter Karl bei genau diesem Label bis zur ersten Schließung 2006 gearbeitet und konnte so meine Karriere in der Musikbranche starten. Ich bin in dieser Hinsicht ein emotionaler Mensch und konnte den Gedanken nicht ertragen, dass Dark Wings für immer verschwinden würde. Ich habe tolle Erinnerungen an Künstler/Kollegen (die zu Freunden wurden) und viele Shows mit viel guter Musik sowie einige sehr seltsame Geschichten, die die Leute auch heute noch gerne erzählen.

In dieser Tradition ist es mir ein Anliegen und eine Ehre, Dark Wings unter meiner Leitung „back to the roots“ zu bringen. Wir sind nun wieder in Berlin zu Hause und der Anspruch ist es, die Szene in allen Bereichen der schwarzen Szene mit viel Dark Attitude weiter zu beflügeln. Goth-Rock, Industrial, Synth Pop, Hellelectro und so weiter.

Im Januar 2022 haben wir dann Zuwachs in der Labelfamilie bekommen. Tuomas Vuorio aus Finnland und Jamie Hembree aus den USA werden Dark Wings im A&R Bereich unterstützen. Dadurch haben wir die Möglichkeit International zu expandieren und unser Wirkungsfeld zu vergrößern.